Omaya is currently an island that drifts around aimlessly in the sea on Terradiem. It never makes contact with any other civilization, and no one on it has ever seen the outside world beyond the island.

Until now.

A girl falls from the sky, right in front of a camp of people in the forest. She doesn’t remember anything from her past. Somehow, she destroys a boulder threatening to crush the camp, and defeats the flame fairy living inside it. Later, when rescued by the people who built the camp, she is told that she is in Omaya, where the Omayans live in constant rivalry with the other group of people, the Porex. The Omayans call her Millais, which means Mint stripe, in honor of a long green stripe that runs down her leg. She meets the legendary leaders of both groups, Alledh of the Porex and Rashia of Omaya, as well as the healer of Omaya and Rashia’s sister, Poppy. Millais tries to fit in with the Omayans, but they are slowly uncovering dangerous, deadly and mysterious secrets about her past. As the tension between the Omayans and the Porex grows, the question Millais must ask herself is: where does she belong?

.

Now, by reading this you may want to check it out, so now the prologue begins….

.

.

Prologue

Two cats crouched at the edge of a deep canyon of rock, one with silver fur, the other with gold. The silver cat was yowling with grief, and the other cat was trying in vain to comfort her.

“She’s gone!” the cat wailed. “How could I let this happen?”

“She might still be alive. We never found the body,” the golden cat meowed. “For all we know, she might be trying to find a way up.”

The silver she-cat was still dejected. “Don’t try to bring my hopes up. You know as well as I do that no cat could survive that fall.” Her companion opened her mouth to protest, but she swept on. “Either she’s dead, or some magical miracle happened that kept her alive. I don’t want to crush your hopes, Sun, but the slim chance that she was saved is one in a million.”

“True. But what would she say to that? She wouldn’t want us to stop believing. Think of all we went through together.”

The cat hesitated briefly, then turned her wide blue eyes on Sun. “You’re right.”

She looked up to the night sky, as if trying to search for one star in particular. Sun knew what she was doing; when she hoped for guidance, she looked for their mother’s star in the maze of constellations. “May the Lightcats be beside you with every pawstrike you swing, walk with you in times of greatest need. May they light your path and guide your paws,” she shifted her gaze from the midnight sky to the dark shadows of the canyon. “Wherever you may be.”

.

.

Chapter 1: I battle a six-foot-tall bonfire girl

I woke in a forest. I had no memory of the past, no idea where I was, who I was, or what woke me up.

THUD. THUD. THUD.

I jumped, startled, but relaxed as I grew familiar with my surroundings. I was in a grassy green clearing, outlined with trees that stretched to the sky. A line of squat bushes ahead of me hinted an extension of the space, covered hastily by some thorny brambles arranged in a wall. An animal wouldn’t question it, but I realized it was human-made right away. A small hole, almost hidden by the trees, served as an entrance.

It might be a camp of some sort, I thought. If it is, then it’s not very well protected. But it is beautiful, I added as an afterthought.

THUD. CRACK.

I whipped around, holding a small, sharp rock in my left hand. I knew it wouldn’t be of much use in a fight, but it was all I had.

A boulder came crashing through the trees, about the size of a TV. My eyes widened, and I flung my hands out to try and stop it. It crashed against my outstretched arms, attempting to push me back. A searing pain erupted in my right arm, but I ignored it as best I could.

I grunted, shifting until the pressure weighed on my back. A girl with long brown hair and a quiver of arrows slung down her back entered the side of the clearing, about to enter the hole. Her eyes widened with surprise, and she dropped the rabbit she was holding. She vanished into the hole.

I returned to the immediate problem: the boulder. I turned around, slamming my palm into the rock. A thin crack appeared. Intrigued, I hit the rock twice more. The crack widened and spread like a spiderweb. A blinding fiery light burst from it, and I threw her hands up in front of my face to shield my eyes from the light.

When I decided it was safe to open my eyes, I glimpsed an orange-haired girl, with an orange dress, encased in tongues of flame that licked her elbows. Smoke curled from her hands, and scorch marks burned the ground around me. I realized that the fire girl had just tried to throw fireballs at me, and failed miserably.

A moment later, I ducked with my arms over my head as the fire girl hurled a piece of dry wood–on fire, of course–straight at my face. A faint HISS sounded above my head, and I lifted my face just in time to feel a light sprinkle of water.

I started to back away, but the next fireball hit me in the stomach and sent me tumbling backwards. The thorn barrier behind me burst into flames. I braced herself for the flaring pain that would surely come, but nothing happened. A crazy idea started to form in my mind: I was immune to fire.

What I did then was insane and highly dangerous–when the next fire blast came, I stuck my left hand up into the midst of the blaze. I felt it, smooth against my skin, as if it were silk. I pulled my hand down, and a creaking sound issued from the branches overhead. I closed my fist, and a glowing golden shield formed around me, protecting me from the continued attacks of the flame girl.

I knew I couldn’t keep up the display for long, as my consciousness was fading rapidly. However, I held it out, making trees bend to cocoon the flame girl and ensnare her in the branches.

Out of the corner of my eye, I saw the girl with the rabbit reappear from the bracken hole, which had somehow managed to repel the fire when it came close. Two girls followed her out, and the taller girl extended her right hand, pushing forth a stream of water from nowhere. The flame girl turned and fled deeper into the forest. Darkness was beginning to gather at the edges of my vision as the tall girl stooped over me. She turned, calling to the third girl–Poppin? I didn’t dwell on it, though, as the darkness crowded my vision and everything went black.

