My Reading/Writing teacher recently showed us a local newspaper article about a short story contest. I decided to enter, but the problem was it could only be 300 words. What a nightmare! It took me a grand total of four tries before I finally gave up and turned in Doppleganger. It is, after all, my own original story..

But here, I’ll give you my first attempt. I warn you, though, it’s not very good.


Collan:

Hey, hey, is this thing on? *Taps screen* Lachii, help me with this thing.

Lachii:

You have the recorder upside-down, Collan. *Turns recorder over and adjusts screen* There.

Collan:

Yeah, thanks. This is Collan and Lachii, ready to record.

Lachii:

Great intro.

Collan:

Stop being sarcastic.

Lachii:

Me? Never.

Collan:

Okay, let’s hurry up. I’m Collan, this is Lachii–

Lachii:

No duh.

Collan:

Anyways, this is a return to Shannon – Shannon, that’s you, in case you didn’t realize – about the events of last night. It was just like any other high school Halloween costume party. People in various disguises, hanging out, chatting, and some hiding in the woods around the park to scare unsuspecting freshmen. Normal, right? Wrong. We couldn’t tell who the Assassin was because everyone was in disguise. Any face could’ve hidden behind those masks.

Lachii:

Lame masks. High schoolers are so unique.

Collan:

*Rolls eyes* We talked with everyone, but they all seemed the same. We couldn’t detect any trace of the Assassin.

Lachii:

Now he’s hunting us down.

Collan:

Yeah. So we were just enjoying ourselves at the party but we kept our guard up. Around eleven, Lachii and I headed down to the woods to figure out who was the Assassin away from eavesdroppers. The normal high schoolers tried to scare us, and of course we didn’t fall for it – not to mention Lachii almost judo-flipped them – and we went down into the woods. Once we were out of earshot of everyone we decided to start talking.

Lachii:

We found nothing. Nothing at all.

Collan:

The Assassin was clever. We barely escaped with our lives. We–

*Crash*

Collan:

*Turns* Rats! He found us!

Lachii:

*Takes out knife* Go! I’ll hold him off.

Assassin:

Too late.

*Static*

