Like I’ve mentioned before, I’ll be posting creative things like this. When I’m reading or writing, I like to put on a few *modern-radio* songs that I love, or that relate to the mood of the story or scene, such as action/adventure, sorrow/grief, happiness/excitement, suspense, sudden realization, peace/relaxation, secrecy/betrayal, romance, horror/thriller, pretty much music for every scene you can think of. I even have apocalyptic music (warning: don’t turn the volume up too high for those)! I have a super-long playlist for each mood, so here are some top picks:

Action/Excitement

My Songs Know What You Did In The Dark (Light ‘Em Up) – Fall Out Boy

Chasing The Sun – The Wanted

Evacuate The Dancefloor – Cascada

I Dare You – Bea Miller

Roundtable Rival – Lindsey Stirling (I encourage you to watch all her songs, they are absolutely amazing.)

We Are Giants – Lindsey Stirling ft. Dia Frampton

Spooky/Suspenseful/Just Downright Depressing

Apologize – One Republic

Heathens – 21 Pilots

Shatter Me – Lindsey Stirling

Renegades – X Ambassadors

Glowing In The Dark – Girl and the Dreamcatcher

Centuries – Fall Out Boy

Only You – Ellie Goulding (While this is a sort of love song, it does provide a spooky and/or suspenseful beat/rhythm/background.)

Clocks – Coldplay

Titanium – Sia ft. David Guetta

Moon Trance – Lindsey Stirling

30 Minutes of Instrumental Halloween Music – Peder B. Helland

Romantic

Two Young Hearts – Sabrina Carpenter (Many of Sabrina’s songs are romantic, so if you want, those a good to check out too.)

A Drop In The Ocean – Ron Pope

I Won’t Give Up – Jason Mraz

Electric Love – Borns (This is a little more upbeat.)

Bright – Echosmith

Post-Apocalyptic (Listen at your own risk!)

Radioactive – Imagine Dragons

Young Blood – Bea Miller

Beggin’ For Threads – Banks (The lyrics may not be the best if you actually pay attention, but this background music just triggers an apocalyptic adventure-sort scene in my mind.)

Sail – Awolnation (Oh, yes, definitely. You ABSOLUTELY don’t want your volume up too high for this.)

Disturbia – Rihanna (Insanity >;D)

Something Completely Random

Fireflies – Owl City

People Like Us – Kelly Clarkson (This is very inspirational for writing speeches n stuff. Gives a good vibe.)

Everything’s Okay – Lenka

Something Wild – Lindsey Stirling ft. Andrew McMahon – from “Pete’s Dragon” (I know this is supposed to be hopeful but I just find this so depressing, so I just put it in the randomness category.)

Surrender – Cash Cash

Me and My Girls – Fifth Harmony (?????)

In The Rain – Miraculous Ladybug (This is a TV show with this instrumental that caught my attention.)

Unwritten – Natasha Bedingfield (Perfect for writing. The lyrics completely capture what it’s like to be a writer, a speaker, a storyteller.)

4 Hours of the Best Epic Inspirational Music – Complete Instrumental (There are a variety of songs in this 4-hour video. Of course you don’t have to listen to all of them, and in the description there are links to each song in the mix. They are all amazing and serve different purposes, and to top it all off, there are pictures accompanying each song that just seems to fit. I listen to it all the time!)


So that concludes my list, for now. Obviously this isn’t everything, but I have hundreds, and these are just the top. There are so may songs I haven’t heard, too! It gets so hard to choose. I love them all..

If there’s anything you’d like to add, please comment below! I love hearing new suggestions. Different music sparks different ideas, you know, and eclectic styles lead to even better writing. Even when reading, there are so many different – and awesome – types of music that can enhance your reading experience! After a while you get used to it. And for all you silence readers out there – I used to read in complete silence, I could not have any music playing while I read. Then I began to listen to music more often, during which I picked up a book and started reading. Now, I can do hardly anything without desiring my music in the background! If I can do it, so can you.

