I know I haven’t posted for the last 3 days, but I’m here to make up for it with a big HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY from myself and my cat. Enjoy this story I wrote for the school newspaper’s Valentine’s issue. It’s short because I had a 1-page limit, but I was also working really fast, so sorry if it’s bad.


“H-hello?” James pushed open the creaky door to the old house. “Anyone home?”

“Boy, don’t you know a typical horror story when you see one?” someone snapped to James’s left, making him jump.

“A-are you Madame Forestiere?” James stuttered.

“Who else would I be in an old house like this?” Madame Forestiere spread her hands out wide. “Tell me what have you come for, dear.”

“Uh.” James hesitated. “I was told you could give me – what did the man say? ‘What I desperately need to save my relationship’.”

“Of course,” Madame Forestiere purred. “I have just the right thing you need.”

“Thank you so much,” James gasped. “I don’t know what I’m going to do if I can’t be with her. She’s my life.”

“Anything, dear, for a little love.” Madame Forestiere smiled. “But I will require a small fee. Nothing much, of course.”

“What is it?”

“Come along.” Madame Forestiere led James through the a dark room to the parlor. Motioning for James to sit on one of the flowery pink couches, she crossed to a glass cabinet and opened a drawer at the bottom, rifling through its contents.

James remained standing by the door uncertainly as Madame Forestiere returned to him with a bottle filled with lavender liquid that swirled with a strange misty quality. “Ever heard of a love potion, dear?” she asked James. “It’s quite common in tiny little tales, but they actually do exist.”

“Are you sure?” James eyed the bottle doubtfully.

“Of course,” Madame Forestiere repeated. “All I ask is that you hold this.” With a gloved hand she held up an empty glass bottle identical to the one holding the love potion.

James stared at it hesitantly. “Why?”

“You’ll see.”

She handed him the bottle.

