I’m back again after a week! Sorry I took so long. Busy schedule. Enjoy an extra “history” lesson!


“So let me get this straight,” Arion said for the umpteenth time as they walked down the forest path. “I’m descended from the Equinox of Origin?”

Caddie nodded, glancing over her shoulder to where Nephthys and Obsidian conferred a ways back. “Mhm. It would explain your type, and why you’re so powerful. Even more so because the lava-dwellers died out or mixed bloods with other species, so he must have felt the need to hide his descendants.”

“I don’t feel particularly dwarfish, though.” Arion frowned, trying to measure his height with his hand.

“He wasn’t a dwarf,” Caddie reminded him. “Actually, he and Obsidian share some features. Dark hair, tall, always serious.”

“Is Obsidian related to him as well?”

Caddie shook her head. “He’s an angel-demon hybrid, I believe. A shifter.”

“How do you know all this history?” Arion narrowed his eyes at her. “You seem to know an awful lot about everyone and their backgrounds.”

“What can I say?” Caddie shrugged. “I’ve been around longer than I care to remember. Hybrids have three times the lifetime of a typical human, and special descents have even longer. I’ve been around since the triassic period. Artemis even longer, Lycaon as well, and Snowy Heart, and – well, you get the point.”

“Really? What special descent do you have?” Arion asked her curiously.

Caddie shrugged. “I’m not really sure. My history was never detailed in any book I found, but I have reason to believe the Creator had Imagined me into existence. The Creator has Imagined everything since the beginning of time, so it would make sense. I’m just not sure why she’s keeping me around so long.”

Arion had no idea how that worked, but he didn’t have time to ask, as he was cut off by Obsidian calling from behind. “Cadmea?” he yelled, and the two stopped, realizing the other two were still climbing the hill. They had gone too far ahead.

“Maybe we should break for lunch,” he suggested as the two crested the rise. “It’s well into midday, and we’ve walked a considerable distance to build up an appetite.” He shot a quick grin at Arion when he said this.

“I am pretty hungry,” Arion admitted.

“So we’ll stop,” Caddie conceded, then led the party to a small off-road clearing among the trees. They settled down in the long grass, measuring and eating a portion of their rations. Arion listened to Nephthys’s lesson about the surrounding plants while Obsidian and Caddie conferred quietly across the clearing, heads bent together and whispering worriedly.

Arion stood up as Nephthys finished an explanation of the uses of a leaf she’d plucked off the ground. “Maybe we should go. We’ve been here a while.”

Suddenly, an arrow whistled past Arion, just ruffling his dark hair, and embedded itself in the thick trunk of the tree next to Obsidian and Caddie. A gruff voice echoed from the direction of the shot.

“Or maybe you should stay awhile.”

